Review: Corpselight (Verity Fassbinder #2) by Angela Slatter

Corspselight

Series : Verity Fassbinder

Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books

Source : Publisher

Release Date : July 13th 2017

 

 

‘Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves’ – Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Sequel to VIGIL, this fast-paced urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Malhone.

Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity’s all about protecting her city, but right now that’s mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council – after all, it’s hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you’re really, really pregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for ‘Unusual Happenstance’. That’s not usually a clause Normals use – it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing – but Susan Beckett’s claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she’s still insisting she doesn’t need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.

V’s first lead takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it’s clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful . . .

Corpselight is the sequel to Vigil and the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.

Tash M

For the last couple of days I have been addicted to Verity Fassbinder and her  crazy journey  devouring Vigil and then Corpselight.  Kicking myself the whole time  for not reading Vigil sooner.  As this is an awesome Australian urban fantasy series and one that any fantasy lover should read asap.

So to say the least, I  wasn’t prepared for the crazy adventure Verity was about to embark on this time around.  In the last book we saw how unique Verity was and  how she was able to live between two worlds.  She deals with a lot and whilst it seemed chaotic at times , it all comes together in the end somewhat . However  this time things aren’t simple as last time given that there was plenty of material  to go over and answers needing to be found .

Those who have followed Verity would know, that she drop a little bit of a bombshell at the end of the last book. She was pregnant and now we return to Verity a few months later , dealing with that  pregnancy and trying to take a break from things.

But it is Verity and when you are a PI to all people, she isn’t going to be forgotten in a hurry despite wanting to be thank you very much so  she can relax .  She is  just taking  the easy job, an insurance claim. Nothing to hard, it is just odd and unusual. Nothing to exciting for good old Verity, the boys knew what she wanted , simple and easy .

However knowing Verity and her talents,  the fact that she makes Slatter put her in interesting situations. It wasn’t going to be too longer before things started to heat up and make her really take notice.

As this insurance claim is only the beginning to Corpselight. There plenty more action and mystery to be found in this instalment. In fact it may even surprise you as if you though the first one was intriguing and thrilling.  Corpselight takes things  up another notice and reveals so much more.  If you though you knew all, Brisneyland  had  a few more secrets to share.  It lend itself to an interesting story

The way that Slatter plotted and delivered the storyline was genius. It was chaotic but it allowed for questions and answers and really get a sense of things.  I loved how things came together in the end  and it is a very entertaining instalment .  You can’t help feel, wanting more after you finished especially when Slatter leaves you like she does with Verity.

It makes you want to go back and revisit the books and discover  every little titbit to hold you over until  you find what will happen next. As Verity is a character that grows on you so much , that you can’t image liking or understanding her any other way. Slatter definitely doesn’t have the second book syndrome with Corpselight. IT is an amazing addition to this urban fantasy series and one of my favourites for sure.

 

 

You may also like

1 Comment

  1. I completely agree, Verity is a firecracker and she challenges and is so interesting! I am almost finished Corpselight myself and I’m loving it. It IS unique and sassy and sarcastic; it’s everything I want and I have no idea what’s going to happen next.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge